Global Alerts

Panama – Entry Restricted for Schengen Visa Holders

Panama – Entry Restricted for Schengen Visa Holders

Effective January 13, 2017, Schengen Area visas are no longer accepted for entry into Panama. The policy change came after a similar step was taken by Costa Rica, where visitor visas for Schengen Area countries or Japan were also made ineligible for entry from December 14, 2017.

The moves do not affect most nationals of EU countries, the United States or Japan, who can enter both Central American countries without visas for short stays. Panama continues to accept certain visitor or residence visas for United States, Australia, Canada and the United Kingdom, which is outside the Schengen Area.

Those entering Panama on one of the visas listed above must also be sure that the visa is valid for multiple entries, is valid for at least one year from the day of entering Panama, and has been used at least once to enter the issuing country before travel to Panama.

Travelers who have met these requirements will be permitted to stay in Panama for 30 days, renewable for an additional 60 days.

The Schengen Area consists of 22 European Union Member States and four non-members: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania are not yet part of the Schengen Area, but nonetheless have a visa policy that is based on the Schengen area.

Send Us
a Message

Our team is eager to help your organization navigate the complexities of immigration law & relieve any visa processing frustrations that you are experiencing.

Subscribe to FGI's Bi-weekly Newsletter
Subscribe to Forum for Expatriate Management (FEM Detroit) Distribution List