Global Alerts

INDIA – Visas on Arrival Available for Many Foreign Nationals

Since November 27th, 2014, new visa-on-arrival services have been in effect for nationals of more than 40 countries. These nationals will no longer be required to obtain tourist visas prior to their departure to India. In the future, the Indian government plans to extend these services to 180 countries. Nationals from the following countries are now eligible to receive visas on arrival:

Australia Jordan New Zealand Singapore
Brazil Kenya Niue Solomon Islands
Cambodia Kiribati Norway Thailand
Cook Islands Laos Oman Tonga
Djibouti Luxembourg Palau Tuvalu
Fiji Marshall Islands Palestinian territories Ukraine
Finland Mauritius Papua New Guinea United Arab Emirates
Germany Mexico Philippines U.S.
Indonesia Micronesia South Korea Vanuatu
Israel Myanmar Russia Vietnam
Japan Nauru Samoa  

These nationals may obtain a visa via an online application. They must upload a copy of their passport and a photo and submit payment for the $50 USD visa fee. After completing the application, the national will receive an Electronic Travel Authorization via email, which they must print out and bring on their flight to India. The Electronic Travel Authorizations are accepted at the international airports in Bangalore, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Gao, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai, and Trivandrum. The visas that will be issued upon arrival are non-extendable, non-convertible, and valid for 30 days. It should be noted that travelers may not apply more than twice in a year. Additionally, business visas are not covered in this scheme.

Send Us
a Message

Our team is eager to help your organization navigate the complexities of immigration law & relieve any visa processing frustrations that you are experiencing.

Subscribe to FGI's Bi-weekly Newsletter
Subscribe to Forum for Expatriate Management (FEM Detroit) Distribution List