FGI News and Publications

COVID 19 Travel Restriction Update

Effective July 2, travelers arriving from the following 8 non-EU

countries will be permitted to enter Germany: Australia, Canada,

China, Georgia, , Montenegro, New Zealand, Thailand, Tunisia and

Uruguay. Travelers from China, Japan and South Korea will only be

able to enter once they offer reciprocal entry permission to German

nationals. Germany has not granted entry permission to travelers

from four of the “safe” countries recommended by the EU:

Algeria, Morocco, Rwanda and Serbia.

Regardless of country of origin, entry is also permitted for,

among others with an important travel reason, foreign specialists

and highly qualified employees, whose employment is necessary from

an economic point of view and whose work is not postponed or can be

carried out abroad.

Arrivals who have spent time in a “risk area” within

the previous 14 days may be subject to quarantine under the rules

of the competent federal state. Before traveling to Germany, one

should double check on the website of the state of entry regarding

the specific regulations there. If the state of entry is not the

destination (residence) state at the same time, then the traveler

should refer to the website of the destination state.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general

guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought

about your specific circumstances.

Send Us
a Message

Our team is eager to help your organization navigate the complexities of immigration law & relieve any visa processing frustrations that you are experiencing.

Subscribe to FGI's Bi-weekly Newsletter
Subscribe to Forum for Expatriate Management (FEM Detroit) Distribution List